The original church dates from the thirteenth century and is mentioned in a document of 1277 although the current interior dates back to the eighteenth century refurbishment and the style is late Baroque. The facade, however, was rebuilt in 1829 and the strict lines are softened by the side niches with busts of St. Peter and St. Paul of the fourteenth century.
The interior has three naves and the left incorporates the bell tower which was originally detached from the building. The church contains many valuable works such as a marble niche of 1512, flanked by the busts of St. Peter and St. Paul from the thirteenth century, and a baptismal font of the sixteenth century. The altar is decorated with an altarpiece depicting Mary, St. Peter and St. Paul.
The decoration of the church recalls the Ninfeo Bramante in the park outside the walls built by the Colonna.
A grand organ by Malvestio di Padova enriches the spirituality of the church.
Next to the church, the splendid Romanesque bell tower with three levels of mullioned windows reveals the medieval origins and gives a touch of originality to it all together.