This post is also available in: Italian

St Peter’s church was initially built in 1610 at the expense of Cardinal Pietro Aldobrandini.

The structure, located in the square, consists of three parts constructed in different eras: the central part, the church with the convent, was wanted by Cardinal Aldobrandini early in the seventeenth century; one on the right, the chapel of St. Francis, is dated in 1855; on the left is the hospital wanted by Pope Leo XIII, now a rest home named after Leo XIII.

The facade of St. Peter the Apostle, recovered with travertine marble in the 1950s, has a gable inscribed the apostle Peter. The interior, with a nave and barrel vault, has a wooden altar with two large reliquary closets and an altarpiece by an unknown representative of the church.  Laterally there are two chapels with wooden statues by Fra Stefano Piazza Armerina (1685): on the right the “Seven Sorrows of Mary “, and on the left a “Christ crucified”. These statues in the seventeenth century were hidden by two paintings of the 1600s, now placed on the wall: “The stigmata of St. Francis”, attributed to the French caravaggista Simon Vouet, and “Immacolata” attributed to Fra Diego from Tavello.

In the back of the church there is a marble statue of G. Dupre donated by the Third Franciscan Order to Leo XIII. From the sacristy it leads to the beautiful cloister of the seventeenth century, with a large central cistern, Pietro Aldobrandini weapons and 28 lunettes (arched window openings) frescoed with the history of St. Francis by Francesco Serbucci Tivoli (1685). From here you can admire the vegetable garden and the forest of old trees, once supported by the Franciscan religious family. Each year in the cloister of the “Dinner of the Cardinal” takes place.