This post is also available in: Italian

The church and the adjoining convent were founded respectively in early 1300s and in 1363, according to the testament of Cicco Omobono, the church was enlarged in the Gothic style. Traces remain of this building in the rear wall of ashlar stone, the pointed arch mullioned windows in travertine with central column and curved decorations and frescoes of the XIV-XV century representing the Virgin and Child, San Savino and San Bonaventura.

In the fourteenth century a cloister with pointed arches was connected to the church. The two buildings were damaged by the earthquake of 1654 and restored and expanded in the early eighteenth century.

The cloister was closed, destroyed by the construction of a grand staircase, according to the architecture and style of the eighteenth-century.

From 1806 the convent was abolished by the French under Murat and the building was transferred to the municipality who used it for various purposes and it now houses the town museum.

Categories:

Top