This post is also available in: Italian

The convent was founded by St. Paul of the Cross on April 2, 1751 and was initially a small building for a hermit who kept a small church dedicated to St. Sosio, martyred in 305 along with San Gennaro during the persecution by Diocletian.

In 1772 he began the construction of a new church and expanded the convent to accommodate 12 religious devotees initially. The monastery was rebuilt in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. The church has a single nave with side chapels and shows baroque decorations. Today the complex is also used as a convention center.