This post is also available in: Italian Chinese (Simplified)

Plauto district was formed around the Benedictine monastery of Sant’Angelo di Pesco Mascolino, of which some traces remain, but are difficult to find. The monastery was born around the eighth century when the monks began the work of reestablishing agriculture, recreating those urban settlements that were lost after the fall of the Roman Empire. Under the motto ‘Ora et Labora’, the monks alternated prayers with the reestablishment of the countryside and the construction of small buildings.
The existence of this monastery is confirmed in a document of 1097 and up to 1191, after that there is no news, probably also for the numerous struggles between pope and empire that would then have their climax with Frederick II of Swabia.
The church of Sant’Angelo di Pesco Mascolino in Comino began its decline with the earthquake of 1238. It was still mentioned in a document dated 1247 when it was assigned to monks so that, with the proceeds, they could buy clothes and sandals. In 1273 the church was functioning and could give six ducats to the abbey of Montecassino.
Due to its modest importance it was under the administrative and functional control of other churches.
In the XIII century practically the church stopped having its central role in the community and today only some suggestive  the Remains of Benedictine Monastery are visible among the vegetation of the Casalvieri countryside.


DiscoverPlaces

Traveller's Guide to Italy

Top