The fountain was built by Angelo in 1825, when he asked the mayor to remove a town forest which marred the view and the well-being of his palace. The mayor gave it in exchange for the fountain. The fountain is located in a park with old plane trees and has a unique architecture. The back wall is five meters high and has an apse with a sculptured coat of arms of Cervaro and the date of 1825.
Water is collected from a basin and is distributed in two side tanks by logs of cylindrical granite columns, probably taken from one of the Roman buildings along the nearby Via Latina.
The story goes that to these columnar logs women were tied women who sinned of lust, or were considered witches or sorcerers to be flogged. The columns were a warning to the conduct of women.