Cecchina is one of the two great hamlets of Albano Laziale with its own history that begins in the Bronze Age, around the tenth century BC when the area was governed by Alba Longa. In this territory the remains of the Corioli Village have been located, built by the Volsci population and conquered by the Romans in 491 BC led by General Gnao Marcio who then took the name of Coriolano in homage to his conquests.
Due to its view of the sea, a series of watch towers were built in Cecchina in the Middle Ages to warn of the arrival of the Saracens. One can still recognize Torre Cancelliera, from the name of a family who worked in the papal chancellery, Tor di Sbarra who had a mill next door and Tor Paluzzi.
The name Cecchina is linked to Monsignor Sebastiano Cecchini who in 1611 bought a farmhouse and built a church dedicated to Sant’Antonio da Padova. Urban development began in 1863 with the opening of a railway station along the Rome-Velletri line and continued in 1944 with the redistribution of the lands of the large landowners.