This post is also available in: Italian

The church was first built in 1429 by some citizens of Sora for atonement of their sins. It was partially built into the rock in an area rich in Palaeolithic finds. In the church there is a fresco of the 1400s of the Madonna that was destroyed in 1943 by bombing by the Allied forces.

The church is full of memories of the life of Cardinal Cesare Baronio. In 1960 it was completely rebuilt with the contribution of the local population and migrants to Canada.