This post is also available in: Italian Chinese (Simplified)

The monastery seems to have been founded by St. Benedict between 520 and 528 AD and a part of the building overlooks the river. In the courtyard there is a spring, from which flows the water of San Luca. The church has a single nave and has the characteristics of medieval religious buildings.

In 1256 the monastery was assigned to the Benedictine nuns until 1587 when they moved into town due to scandals. The monastery was looted during the passage of the Napoleonic troops after the French Revolution and it was sold it to private interests.

Today the building is run by the Congregation of the Daughters of Our Lady of Divine Love and is a retreat centre for those who want to get away and live in the peace of the mountains in a spiritual place with a special atmosphere.

Categories:

Top