The castle stands on an earlier Sabine fortress around a thousand, when the inhabitants of the valley were seeking refuge at the top to escape the attacks of Saracens and Huns. At the end of the twelfth century it was granted in feud to Francesco Orsini.
In the fifteenth century the castle was enlarged and strengthened maintaining a strong military connotation of a defensive fortress. They were reinforced walls, built towers and fortified the surrounding village.
In 1483 he was made the ‘Old Church’. In 1644 the whole area was ceded to Barberini, then to the Colonna and the Lante della Rovere.
Since 1939, the castle of the Marquis Ferrari-Frey family and now houses a hotel.