This post is also available in: Italian

The history of the building begins when businessman Marco Besso, an important manager of Assicurazioni Generali in Venice, and his wife gather in Trieste some Jewish entrepreneurs and put together a network for its construction. The palace was inaugurated in 1913 with fanfare, flight of airplanes and in the presence of Queen Margherita.

It was a luxury hotel and was considered one of the best in Europe. In 1914 the King of Italy Vittorio Emanuele III with the whole royal family came to holiday in Fiuggi and stayed in what is still called the ‘apartment’.

In 1990 it was restored and reopened by Englishman Sir Charles Forte, who had never forgotten his origins.

 

Categories:

Top