The Pamphilj palace is also known as the Nazarene College and is located at the summit of the Trident, the urban development of Cardinal Savelli who designed the style of Albano in the seventeenth century. The palace dates back to the early eighteenth century when Cardinal Benedetto Pamphilj wanted to build a hunting lodge but also a literary parlour combining some existing buildings.
The cardinal was a patron and the librarian of the Vatican Apostolic Library and he loved these parts so much that he bought more and more properties to create a sumptuous palace. The realization of this “factory”, the name by which building sites were called, is the object of many studies.
In 1764 the palace was purchased by the Scolopi Fathers of the Nazarene College to be used as a summer residence for students who could not return home. The building had a further storey erected and a rearrangement of interior spaces.
During the ‘sister’ republic of Albano, at the time of the French occupation, the palace was requisitioned and hosted the French soldiers. The Scopoli family then had to renovate the building with the famous architect Giuseppe Valadier contracted.
In the First World War it hosted the Italian army while in 1944 it was then required to accommodate 52 homeless families of the Second World War.
Since then it has been in a precarious situation and is hidden by scaffolding.