This post is also available in: Italian

On the hill in Campigliano in 1500, the Virgin appeared to a young deaf-mute shepherd who regained his speech and hearing. The Virgin began to be venerated on the site of the miracle, and a Wayside Shrine was built. At the end of the sixteenth century the rural church was built that was accessible only by a small country road.

Initially the church had a single nave, later enlarged and finished in the late eighteenth century and the mid-twentieth century by adding other aisles in each of which there are four altars.

The paintings at the end of the aisles and behind the organ, facing the inside of the church, represent images from the history of faith of San Vito.

It was named a sanctuary only after recognition of the Virgin Mary in 1948.

Categories:

Top