The Sanctuary of Santa Maria delle Rose of Casalvieri was started on April 20, 1636, replacing a chapel located on the site where the Virgin Mary had appeared in a rose garden to a small mute shepherdess with grazing sheep. The shepherdess regained her speech after the appearance.
The church has an ornate facade in diamond shaped bossage, and originally had a single nave with six side chapels. At the end of the nineteenth century the church was expanded with the addition of two side aisles. The building has been damaged due to several earthquakes (1654, 1915, 1980 and 1984).
Inside are two wooden sculptures of the Neapolitan school: a crucifix of the mid-seventeenth century, and a statue of the Annunciation of the eighteenth century.