The first core of the sanctuary was a cell built in the ninth century by Benedictine monks on the ruins of an ancient Roman villa in Casaluce. This cell was consecrated in the sixteenth century to the Virgin of Santa Maria of Indulgences. According to documents in the sixteenth century plenary indulgences were dispensed on the day of the feast of Our Lady, the second Sunday after Easter, every Sunday in May and on the day of the Assumption.
In 1841 the church was enlarged with the addition of a second level. The work continued until 1860 when the new temple with three naves was finished.
The wooden statue of the Virgin of Indulgences preserved in the sanctuary dates back to the fourteenth or fifteenth century.