Sanctuary dates back to the twelfth century and was built, in 1102. Here were buried Gerardo and his fellow companions Stephen and Peter on a pilgrimage to the Holy Land. According to the “Gothic Book”, a pilgrim who lay ill in the country had a vision of Gerardo and was healed after having implored. In 1127 Gerardo was sanctified. The oldest records of the church date back to 1259.
In 1608 the Jesuit John Gerard, the last member of the Saint’s family, donated the silver arm which the Sanctuary still holds the relic.
The sanctuary was enlarged and rearranged in the eighteenth century in Baroque style. The interior has three naves with bright decorations consisting of paintings and frescoes. The last were painted from 1970 to 1972 by the painter Secondo Raggi-Karuz. Of artistic interest is the fresco on the dome dedicated to the “four pilgrims” and built in the eighteenth century by an artist of the Neapolitan school.