This post is also available in: Italian

It is a small church located on Mount San Maurizio where an ancient church dedicated to San Maurizio stood, as documented in 1043. Then the building was abandoned and was made a lookout place against the incursions of the Saracens. A statue of the Madonna was brought there and perhaps from this came the name “of the Guard.”