The church is mentioned in the 1308-1310 tithes and in those of 1325. Nearby to the church were collected about 30 fragments from Prehistoric, Roman and Volsci eras. The oldest date from the seventh to the fourth century BC. Among the Roman ceramic fragments, there are two black painted lids of the Republican period and other fragments of the Imperial era.
From these findings it follows that the church was built on an existing pre-Roman and Roman church.