Dai Temple (also called Dongyue Temple) is located in the north of Tai’an city and south of Mount Tai. The temple was a place where ancient Chinese emperors held the Fengshan ceremony and worshipped the god of Mount Tal.
It is the largest and best-preserved ancient architectural complex in the Mount Tai area.
Dal Temple was built during Han Dynasty (206 BC – AD 220), it was renovated by emperors and became prosperous In the Tang Dynasty (AD 618-907). Emperor Zhenzong In the Song Dynasty (960-1279) built Tiankuang Palace, the main structure of the temple.
The temple is majestic and consists of 186 ancient buildings, 184 stone steles, 48 stone portraits, 212 ancient cypresses and other trees, and 292 ornamental plants. The temple contains many steles, which are referred to as “the forest of steles in Dai Temple”.
Tlankuang Palace is one of the “Top Three Ancient Chinese Palatial Architectures” and has great historic and artistic value. It contains a mural named The Painting of the God of Mount Tal Faring Forth and Returning to Palace, which is a superior work among Daoist murals.
The temple is regarded as one of the four major ancient architectural complexes in China, along with the Imperial Palace in Beijing. Confucius Complex (Confucius Family Mansion, Temple, and Cemetery) in Qufu of Shandong and Chengde Mountain Summer Resort.
The ultimate authority of the Dai Temple rest with emperors at the Grand Hall of Harmony in the Forbidden City of Beijing.