This post is also available in: Italian

The castle was built in 1054 by the two counts of the Marsi, Oderisio Rainaldo II and III, and is passed through different families: the Counts of Aquino, the Cantelmos and finally Gallio, who kept it until the extinction of their house (1806). It dominates the Val Comino and the Romana Valley crossed by the Melfa River.

The current form of the castle dates back to the sixteenth century and the manor dominated the old town with its imposing size rectangular plan. The main façade presents towers, battlements, slits for archers and arquebusiers (early musket). One side and the cylindrical central tower were severely affected by American bombing in 1944.

Categories:

Top