The church dates back to 1300 and was dedicated to Our Lady of Mount Carmel and then to St. Anthony in 1870. The nearby convent is mentioned for the first time in the fourteenth century, and was built by the Ricci family, the same family as Fra Tommasso (Brother Thomas), still revered and studied.
Inside six monks lived, four lay people and two priests, who were dedicated to religious activities, crafts and agricultural work and the monastery had 500 hectares enclosed by a boundary wall.
With the confiscation of religious property by Gioacchino Murat, in 1808, the convent was auctioned and bought by Cavalier Giovanni Tempesta. Afterwards, the Confraternity of the Most Holy Rosary bought the church. In 1872, a wing of the convent was transformed into a School of Architecture in the summer of 1878, even Princess Anne Caroline Bonaparte stayed.