The church dedicated to Saint Ignatius, founder of the Jesuits, was built by the Bussi family around 1671, as reported by a plaque on the façade. But over the years many other families have contributed to its construction such as the first Spadensi who was the protagonist of a rather complex affair. In fact, the heirs contested the will of Donato Spadoni in 1638 and went into argument with the seminar: the controversy ended with a reduction in the sum given to the seminar.
For the construction of the seminar it was permitted to close an alley and the complex appeared appropriate for its importance.
The façade was then rebuilt in 1837 by Vincenzo Federici and today it appears to us with an austere nineteenth-century style, in peperino stone and plaster and the only form of lightness is given by the play of colour between the stone and the plaster.
The interior was restored in 1893 by Castore Costantini and is a unique environment with side chapels and a frescoed dome.
In this church, Pope Leo XIII received the first communion on June 21, 1821, when he was a seminarian. The episode is remembered with a fresco of the Pope’s coat of arms.
Today the church has been entrusted to a therapeutic community and to the Romanian Orthodox parish of “San Callimaco di Cernica”.