The small church of San Marco (Saint Mark) is one of the oldest in Viterbo and from a plaque on the façade we read that it was consecrated in 1198 by Pope Innocent III in the presence of 15 cardinals. At that time the pope was busy trying to find a balance with St. Francis and in soothing the souls of the many hermits who asked for a church closer to the people.
The church was built by the Benedictine monks of San Salvatore at Monte Amiata and has still kept its small size of 16 x 8 meters. Its simple gabled façade appears to be raised above the street level, probably because the river Urcione, then covered, flowed nearby. The very simple interior is in local peperino stone with a wooden truss roof. On one wall you can admire a small part of the frescos that adorned the church: a Madonna with Child and a depiction of God between St. Peter and St. Paul in the apse area attributed to Giovan Francesco d’Avaranzano called “Fantastico”.
Among the works we note a painting on panel from 1512 by Giovan Francesco d’Avaranzano that represents a Madonna enthroned with the Child.
The church was bombed during the Second World War and later restored.