The center of Bassano in Teverina is located on a spur of tufa slightly set back from the valley of the Tiber along the road linking Soriano with the river.
The area was inhabited by the Etruscans, who were subdued by the Romans in 309 BC and again in 283 SC. Legend has it that the battle was so bloody that the waters of the river was dyed red and the corpses arrived in Rome in the river.
To control the Tiber, the Romans built in the valley the Castrum Amerinum, now the Vasanello palace, from the name the important Via Amerina that passed it.
With the arrival of the Barbarian invasions, the inhabitants fled to the hills on the site of the former Etruscan settlement that was more easily defended.
Charlemagne gave this fiefdom to the families Canali and Baldini but still they suffered raids, this time by the Saracens. In 1070 Matilda of Canossa gave Bassano and many other areas to Pope Gregory VII.
In 1298 it was declared a commune but always used by the Holy See. In 1527 Pope Clement VII gave the fiefdom to the Neapolitan Alfonso Lagne but upon his death it came under the control of the Apostolic Camera.
In 1559 Pius IV sold it to Cardinal Madruzzo and then it passed to his in-law Cardinal Marco Altemps Sittico who built a palace. After the cardinal’s death it returned to the Apostolic Chamber until the unification of Italian.