Belmonte in Sabina is a town with agricultural vocation along the old Via Salaria. In its territory you can see a stretch of cyclopean walls dating back to the Neolithic (Bronze Age).
In the Middle Ages the Roman villas became centrer under the control of the Abbey of Farfa. Before the eleventh century there were the churches of St. Mary and St. Michael.
The first documents of the town, which attest to the existence of a “Castrum Belmontis”, consist of two bulls of Pope John XXII. In 1353, the Registry of the Apostolic Camera of Rome reports that in Belmonte were 3,533 quintali (about 350 tonnes) of salt, this suggests that the fortress had about 250 units (7 kg per capita per year).
In 1450 the castle was under the control of the Brancaleoni of Romagna, and inside there was the church of San Salvatore, documented in 1398, and located just below the walls of the one dedicated to Our Lady of Saint Rufina.
In 1573 the Belmonte Territory included 13 officiated churches and chapels.
After several families held control, in 1676 it passed to Ippolito Lante della Rovere, who was elected as Marquis by Innocent XI and the town expanded.