The medieval village of Colle San Magno is located on a small plateau at the western slopes of Mount Cairo at 540 meters above sea level, 5 hours walk away from the Abbey of Montecassino.
Tradition has it that during the eighth century some of the inhabitants of Aquino, a town on the plain destroyed by the Longobards, took refuge on Mount Asprano, where there were probably pre-Roman settlements.
In the eleventh century, at the end of the barbarian invasions, the inhabitants returned to the valley and created two new villages Palazzolo and Colle San Magno. It is likely that Colle San Magno was part of the possessions of the Abbey of Montecassino. In fact, the Castle of Castrum Coeli is represented in the bronze doors of the Abbey of Montecassino and the Church of San Pietro, present from the first settlement of the inhabitants in the district of Cantalupo, is named in the maps of the Abbey.
Around the year 1000 citizens left the castle on the mountain to escape the harsh climate and lack of water, but it is known with certainty that the castle on Mount Asprano was one of the castles restored by Frederick II and its monumental ruins are still quite visible.
Colle San Magno belonged to the D’Aquino counts, to the Abbey of Montecassino, to the marquises D’Avalos and then in 1583 to the Boncompagni family. In 1796 it became part of the Bourbon Kingdom.
This small mountain village had a mainly agricultural and pastoral economy and was linked to the extensive woods in which it is still immersed. The village is at the foot of the Cairo massif, surrounded by numerous mountains, and is a starting point for excursions and walks.