This post is also available in: Italian

Since the Upper Paleolithic period, the area was chosen by indigenous peoples for its favorable climatic conditions, but only with the Falisci did it reach its most prosperous period.

The Fabrica territory is dotted with small Faliscan settlements with caves dug into the peperino rock with niches, (definitely a columbarium – dovecote), that are within the current city centre.

In the third century BC the Romans defeated the Etruscans and destroyed Falerii Veteres forcing the survivors to move inside the walls of Falerii Novi, a major city located in this area.

Even today we can see the imposing perimeter walls, over two kilometers long, and the 50 watchtowers that protected the town.

In the Middle Ages Fabrica was part of the Roman duchy and suffered from the invasion by the Lombards and Saracens.

In the chronicles of the Abbey of Farfa it is reported that in 1093 AD the “Fundo Fabricae” was donated by Hildebrand of Odelerio Abbey.

In 1177 in the Papal Bull of Alexander III, Fabrica was stated to be among the properties of the Abbey of St. Elias sub Pentoma (Castel Sant’Elia) and in 1217 it was donated to the Hospital of San Tommaso in Formis. In the fifteenth century it passed to the Hospital of Santo Spirito in Sassia. These donations make it clear that Fabrica had almost always belonged to the Papal States that assigned it to different feudal lords.

With the pontificate of Pope Sixtus IV, Francesco Della Rovere, it was given in perpetual lease to Lucrezia Della Rovere, widow of Colonna. The Della Rovere family built its own palace, in which also dwelt Pope Julius II Della Rovere. The ownership by Lucrezia lasted only two years and the castle was returned to the Hospital of Santo Spirito.

In 1539, by decision of Pope Paul III Farnese, Fabrica passed to the Farnese family who owned it until 1649, year of the dissolution of the Duchy of Castro. Fabrica returned under the Holy See, and only in 1756 Fabrica was sold to Stefano and Leopold Cencelli who restored and embellished it.