This post is also available in: Italian

The origins of Corchiano date back to the pre-Etruscan period of Falisci and probably the ancient Fescennium was just where is the present village. Of these origins remain numerous tombs and cemeteries and the custom of ‘Canti fescennini’. These are satirical poems, originally made on the occasion of the celebrations dedicated to the harvest, and they were so feared by the Romans for their violent irony that they were banned by legislation.

This area called Agro Falisco was quiet until the descent towards Rome of the Barbarians who plundered and devastated. Even Falerii, with its mighty walls and 50 towers, was abandoned and the inhabitants took refuge on the cliffs above Falisci.

The old Fescennium then was re-inhabited around 1000 with the construction of a castle and the town took the name of Hortiano, under the leadership of Captain Ranieri of Farolfo, and was placed under the control of the Papal State. Over the centuries other families have followed in the leadership of the town including the Di Vico and the Orsini who remained there until 1472.

In 1534 it became part of the Duchy of Castro created by Paul III Farnese for his son Pier Luigi. This was the most prosperous period for the village.

As in all their fiefdoms, the Farnese family built a new fortress but it was abandoned after the destruction of Castro in 1649 and then demolished in 1979.

Corchiano was with the Apostolic Chamber until the unification of Italy, except for a brief occupation by the French troops in 1798.