Gerano stands among the chestnut forests and olive groves to the east of Rome, in an area similar to that of Mount Gherania in Greece, hence the name of gheranos: Gerano.
The story begins with the village of Trebula Suffenas in the third century BC and during the Roman period ancient aqueducts passed through here, and there are many Roman remains.
With the fall of Rome several fortified towns were formed including the biggest being Trellano and Gerano which was a papal colony that could issue money and to have its own army.
The Gerano castrum was built around the church of Sant’Anatolia before 1000AD and its control was immediately disputed by the abbeys of Tivoli, Subiaco and San Cosimato. All this is documented by many letters by popes.
In 1077 Gerano was divided into three parts (control by the bishop, monastery and feudal lord), but the abate Giovanni V Ottaviani conquered and built a palace, a tower and a private chapel. Yet this situation led to new struggles and local wars.
In 1169 peace was signed but only in 1183 did the real life as an independent town begin. Gerano was equipped with its own system of local government in 1455 drew up its statute to protect the social life and the forests, agriculture and crafts.
In 1752 Gerano was annexed to the Papal State and shortly thereafter came the public water with the fountain in the square. As in many other towns, Gerano was then totally looted by French soldiers of Napoleon who stole everything that was possible except the silver reliquary of Santa Anatolia.
Gerano declined and a ‘War for the milled grain’ (or for the bread) began until the Pope granted a new mill. But the situation had now changed and with the unification of Italy, there were some bandits from the south and the Garibaldi troops that looted, burned the communal archives and transformed the church of San Lorenzo in the barn.