This post is also available in: Italian

The territory of Marino comprised three cities of the Latin League: Bovillae (today Frattocchie), Mugilla (now Santa Maria delle Mole) and Ferentum (Marino).

In Roman times it appeared among the fortified cities from Silla with the name Castrimoeniun and since the late Republican era was an area of ​​great patrician villas,

In 846 it was destroyed by the Saracens and the inhabitants fled to the interior highlands. The ancient castle that was built around 1000 was called Marino. In 1090 it was dominated by the counts of Tusculum and later became a fiefdom of the Frangipane. In 1230 the castle was owned by Jacoba de’Settesoli, widow of a Frangipane, and a devoted friend of Saint Francis. Since 1266 the castle passed to the Orsini. In 1272 St. Bonaventure, Bishop of Albano, founded the first Confraternity of Italy during a visit to the church of Saint Lucia.

In 1419 the Colonna bought Marino from Cristoforo Caetani for 12,000 gold florins and remained there as the owners until 1914, after having returned the estate to the church in 1816.

In 1494 Marino was held hostage by Cesare Borgia. The following year he stopped the King Charles VIII of France, during his expedition against Naples.

The moment of greatest splendour came when Pope Pius V gave the diplomatic post to Marcantonio Colonna, lord of Marino, to prosecute a Holy League against the Turks and gave him command of the papal fleet. The war ended October 7, 1571 with the victory at Lepanto and Marcantonio Colonna was bestowed a triumphal return worthy of an ancient Roman leader.

Marino was bombed during the Second World War and many works of art were destroyed.