Micigliano is located on a hill surrounded by greenery just below Mount Terminillo (on the eastern side) and from its position it dominates the Gorges of the upper Velino valley.
It is one of the smallest villages in Lazio and there is not much news about its history. It is said to have been founded by a group of people who refused to participate in the formation of the city of L’Aquila and who took refuge on a strong place on a hill.
The first documented records of the existence of Micigliano date back to the mid-10th century and are found on the records of the Abbey of Farfa.
For sure, the history of the village is closely linked to the events of the Abbey of San Quirico and Giulitta, built near Via Salaria and managed by the Benedictines but placed directly under the control of Rome.
The Benedictines were responsible for the reorganization of the territories after the fall of the Roman Empire and the monasteries were centers of culture and school, but also agricultural centers with small residential areas where people could take refuge during the attacks of the barbarians.
In the 10th century the town became the central core of the fiefdom of the Abbey of San Quirico and Giulitta. The monastery was set on fire by the Normans around the mid-twelfth century and then rebuilt by Abbot Sinibaldo in 1179.
The structure still has the ancient fortified structure: the whole complex is surrounded by walls and the mighty bell tower also served as a watchtower.
The importance of the abbey is attested by the historical documentation on its numerous possessions and, in the dispute between the papacy and the empire, it sided with the empire so much that in 1229 Frederick II occupied the territories to put them under his control. With the defeat of the heirs of Frederick II and the arrival of the Angevins, the abbey suffered a certain decline before being abandoned in the seventeenth century.
In the meantime the village of Micigliano grew in importance, whose initial castle had become a fortified inhabited center inside which the parish church of San Biagio was located.
The village never played a major role and followed the fate of the neighboring countries and was given as a fief to several families including the Orsini and the Colonna until it was included in the Kingdom of Naples.
With the unification of Italy, several brigandage phenomena were reported, thanks to mountain refuges, but also the beginning of a wave of emigration that led many inhabitants to leave the country.
Worth noting is a water mill, in perfect condition, from which paths lead to the mountain refuges for walking or horseback riding totally immersed in nature.
To taste the famous mountain truffles, chestnuts grown in the woods and a particular chestnut beer.