This post is also available in: Italian

Selci was born on the ruins of the Roman fort of Campolungo, along the Via Salaria. Here was the Tulliano villa where two funerary strains of the Imperial period (Trajan-Hadrian) were found, belonging to the spouses Tullio Epaphras and Tullia Simferusa, owners of the villa.

After the tenth century, the castrum was abandoned and the inhabitants took refuge in a fortress on a hill to escape the Barbarians.

Initially the castle was administered by the Abbey of Farfa and then moved directly under the jurisdiction of the Holy See. The pope chose directly who should administer this castle, which because of its location had been entered in the catalogue of ‘Castra specialia’ (Special Castles).

Residents tried several times to rebel against papal authority and in 1368 a fiefdom granted by Pope Urban V to the Orsini, whose overlordship ended in 1596 when the castle was confiscated for non-payment by the Apostolic Camera and subsequently auctioned.

In 1596, the Cesi family took over, then in 1697 the Vaini family and in 1722 it came under the dominion of the Holy See.

The name may allude to the presence of a paved road or paving stones