The name Vicalvi has medieval origins, Vicus Albus, of the Latin ‘Vicus’ (village) and ‘albus’ (white).
The area was already inhabited since the Paleolithic age, and it overlaps with Roman ruins and finally the medieval castle sits on top.
After the Barbarian invasions, Vicalvi came to occupy an important and strategic role around 1000 thanks to Abbot Aligerno, who rebuilt the churches and fortified the castle.
Later the territory became part of the assets of the Counts of Marsi at which time Vicalvese castle became the count’s dwelling. The castle was attacked several times but rarely with success and remained in use until the nineteenth century.
The Unification of Italy and the Second World War brought both destruction and a massive emigration from the end of the nineteenth century.
After World War II, gradually people came down to the valley, abandoning the houses on the hill and forming a central core along the Sora-Cassino road.