This post is also available in: Italian

The Oriolo area is located along the Via Clodia, which connected northern Lazio and Tuscany. It has been inhabited since the Etruscan period and in the Roman settlement are found traces of Forum Clodii. But the current town dates from the mid-sixteenth century, specifically 1560, when Giorgio Santacroce, a nobleman originally from Viano (today Vejano), received it as a gift from the Orsini fiefdomand wanted to build a model agricultural village.

To do this he reclaimed and stripped a large area of trees and offered a dwelling and other economic benefits to those who came to live and to cultivate the fields. Many came from Umbria and this origin is still found in the local basic dialect. In 1606, the fiefdom returned to the Orsini family who sold it in 1671 to Altieri.