Although the area was used since the Romans for their rural villas, the village dates only from the seventh century AD, when some Lombard troops established many settlements. The name comes from the appearance of the place: a “natural bowl (catino)” at the base of Mount Tancia.
From Catino the population moved onto Moricone hill and the name evolved to Poggio Catino.
The new village was formed around a Castrum at about one thousand AD under the protection of the Abbey of Farfa. In the twelfth century the villages of Catino and Poggio Catino formed into free municipalities and in the Middle Ages many families have held sway over the fiefdom: including the Counts of S. Eustachio, Orsini, Savelli, Capizucchi.
In 1614 the fiefdom, Catino and Poggio Catino were bought by the Olgiati family.