Church of San Rocco

The church is located outside the ancient medieval old town as it was used for these buildings dedicated to San Rocco, protector from the plague. The building dates back to 1628 to thank the saint of grace for having saved the country from the plague that had affected all the Read more…

War Memorial

The monument is located outside the village and wants to remember the fallen of the wars. It is composed of two different elements joined by a white marble element. An element is a pillar that ends with a statue of victory and on one side has a sculpture with a Read more…

Oratory

Next to the church of Sant’Andrea is the palace that houses the Oratory and the Confraternity of Sant’Antonio Abate, a very celebrated saint whose statue is in the church of San Rocco. The building dates back to 1575, as reported in a plaque near the door, and is a characteristic Read more…

Ancient walls

Entering Gallicano on the side of San Rocco you can see the ancient walls partly built overhanging the valley below. A proof of the defensive power of this castle perched on a narrow hill of elongated shape.

Town Door

The second door of the town retains some of its medieval features with two side turrets. Today the watchtowers have become residences but their character remains unchanged. In the inside of the door, on the side of the village, there is a painting of the Madonna to protect the village.

Castle Door

The entrance to the town takes place from two doors at the two ends of the main street. The door on the side of the church of San Rocco has now been incorporated into the Baronial Palace on whose wall stands the emblem of the village.

Baronial Palace

In 1668 the Ludovisi sold the fief of Gallicano to the prince Giovanni Battista who transformed the original defensive castle into a Baronial palace. Today we still perceive the original shape of the castle courtyard through the entrance door and entering Piazza della Rocca.

Top