Ladispoli. Castellaccio of Monteroni

The castle of Ladispoli dates from the fourteenth century and is called "Castellaccio" since World War II, because of the bad state of conservation after bombing.

While Monteroni comes from the barrow mounds of the nearby Etruscan necropolis excavated in 1838 (today there are only a couple of mounds).

The castle belonged first to the Papal States, and from the sixteenth century to the Marquis of Riano.

After World War II it came under the Ente Maremma that gave it to tenant farmers peasants who abandoned it around 1960.

Written by:
Benedicta Lee

Born in Rome from an Italian mother and American father, she works as a freelance communications manager and designer in the tourism sector, a career and interest which she is pursuing with a...


Subscribe to Newsletter

Discover a territory through the emotions of the people that have lived it.