Sermoneta. Route of the Museum Town Walls

Sermoneta. Route of the Museum Town Walls

The historic centre of Sermoneta is enclosed within Renaissance walls begun by Onorato III Caetani in 1448 and finished by Francesco Caetani in the first half of 1600s by order of Urban VIII.

Access to the village is via four gates: Porta del Pozzo, Porta delle Noci, Porta San Nicola, Porta Sorda.

Curiosities are the shapes of the Bastion of the Torrenuova and the Bastion of Saint Sebastian that testify the passage from the “shot plunger” defence system to the "cross-fire" defence system.

Access to the castle is via the drawbridge.

Written by:
Benedicta Lee

Born in Rome from an Italian mother and American father, she works as a freelance communications manager and designer in the tourism sector, a career and interest which she is pursuing with a...


Subscribe to Newsletter

Discover a territory through the emotions of the people that have lived it.