The church of San Marco Evangelista and Santa Caterina d’Alessandria of Egypt was the most important of Cellino San Marco and was a collegiate church as it was governed by a college of 6-7 priests.
Its construction dates back to the 18th century and it was then restored many times during the nineteenth century.
The interior of the church has three naves.
In the left one you can admire the altar of St. Joseph, a Baroque imitation of the last century with a painting of the sixteenth century that represents "the announcement of the flight into Egypt".
The main altar, on the other hand, is in polychrome marble from the 18th century and has a painting by Giovanni Scatigni from 1754 representing San Marco.
The church has a central octagonal base dome with portraits of the 4 evangelists.
Outside, the dome is covered with polychrome majolica and gives it a particular style that contrasts with the austerity of the facade.
Next to the church, in the back, there is a simple stone bell tower built in 1863 to replace a previous one.
Under the church there is a gallery that connects it to the Baronial Palace.
It was used for the burial of the dead.
Only an edict of Napoleon during the French occupation forced the creation of cemeteries outside the inhabited centre.