The church of Santa Maria delle Farine is located outside Viterbo along the Via Cassia.
Its construction dates back to 1320 at the behest of the Captain of the People, Silvestro Gatti, as shown on a plaque on the facade.
Probably the church was built on the remains a pagan temple dedicated to the Goddess Furina, protector of thieves, from which her name derives.
According to other studies the name Farina comes from the Latin "refarinae" (theft) which indicates that the area was inhabited by thieves.
The façade is very simple in peperino stone and is enriched by a central rose window carved in stone of the XIV century and by a multicoloured majolica tondo (circular relief).
In the façade there are different layouts of the stones that reveal how the facades are the result of successive expansions.
The one on the left was added in the twentieth century.
The interior is very simple in Italian Gothic style and the altar is embellished with a beautiful peperino canopy.
The church ends with a bell tower with two bells placed side by side in 1612.